Computing at Melbourn Primary School follows the Cambridgeshire Progression in Capability statements which is in line with the National Curriculum for Computing. These statements are broken down into 4 areas:

  • Understanding Technology
  • Programming
  • Digital Literacy
  • E-Safety

These Capability Statements are then broken down further to show what each Year Group should cover.

The children are taught Computing by their class teacher. For discrete Computing skills the children have Computing lessons in our new Computing suite. The skills that the children learn in the discrete sessions are then used across the curriculum in other subject areas using laptops, iPads and other digital devices. To help us teach the Computing curriculum we are using Purple Mash in school. This is also available to use at home via this link

September 2016